Things Every New Blogger Should Know When First Starting Out

So I came across 11 Things I Wish I Knew Before I Started Blogging while researching blogging tips and hot topics. After reading over it, I figured I’d summarize it for some of you, but I highly recommend reading the original post if you are blogging for a living.

Number One: Being Social

Don’t expect people to just stumble across your blog. Yes, it happens, That’s how a few of you found me 😉 BUT the best way to get your blog out there is through other social media. Facebook,  Pinterest, Twitter, and StumbleUpon  to name a few… I started to thinking about it after I read it and thought about how popular Instagram has become. If you have a lot of followers via Instagram I’d recommend it as well. Don’t be shy! Put yourself out there and make some connections!

Number Two: Consistency

Be consistent with how often you post. If you go one week writing absolutely nothing, the next week writing every day, and the following week only blogging once, it will have a negative impact on your traffic. This probably means I’ll be in big trouble soon since, I’m so excited about my first blog, I’ve written at least one post a day! I plan to post an average of 3 times a week.

Number Three: What Goes Online, Stays Online

Be passionate about the things you blog about. Ensure every post is a masterpiece. It can take one “lazy” post to screw up your reputation. You may find people blogging about how much you suck. Ouch. Once you put it out there, it’s there forever. Are you scared yet?

Number Four: Address Book

Apparently the best traffic source is though email. I’m actually surprised by this because most people I know never check theirs. But according to this post email subscribers are 3.9 times more likely to share the content via the social web.” Which leads to more traffic for you.

Number Five: You Have To Spend Money To Make Money

If you don’t blog for a living you can just skip on to number six, but for those of you who are blogging for a living, blogging isn’t free! For an example I’ll post this quote from his blog “I have a ton of small expenses as well, but the ones above are the major ones. They add up to $24,181, which just covers one month worth of expenses. It may seem like a lot of my expenses are one-time, but it’s very rare that I spend less than $20,000 a month on Quick Sprout.” Yes, he just said $20,000 a MONTH. I wonder how much this guy make from blogging?! I’ll let you check out his post to see what crazy expenses he has, but as a teaser, he spent roughly $8,000 on design alone.

Number Six: Repeat Visitors

It’s easy to get someone to visit your blog, but not so easy to keep them coming back for more. One of the best things he suggested was finding out what your followers WANT to read about. Survey?! Another suggestion was to “make your readers feel like they are apart of something“. Interact with them.

Number Seven: Hot Topic

No, not the store you goofballs. If you find a specific post is on fire keep talking about it until the heat dies down. “With KISSmetrics, we realized that infographics were going to be hot, so we decided to create one every single week. We ended up cranking out 47 infographics, which generated 2,512,596 visits from 41,142 backlinks, 41,359 tweets and 20,859 likes.Holy cow, the most likes I’ve ever gotten on something was like 200, and that was my pregnancy annoucement!

Number Eight: It’s All In The Details

Readers and Google Search prefer detailed post. “If you look at the results page on page one of Google, each site on average will have at least 2000 words of content. That just shows that Google really sees content as king.

Now that doesn’t mean fill your post with a bunch of crap just to reach that number, but be detailed while blogging. Especially with DIY post. Step by step tutorials are important! I know I get extremely aggravated when I go to read a DIY and it’s only 5 sentences long.

Number Nine: No Lectures Please!

No-one likes to be lectured. If you do, you might be a little weird. Sorry. Be interesting. Write you post in a conversational manor. For example. Notice how I italicize my thoughts and questions? The crazy part is that I did that before reading his blog. Who knew that actually helped people feel like they were actually party of a conversation?!

Also, “Using the words “you” and “I”- These are two words that are common in conversations. By using them, you will be talking to your readers instead of at them.

Another thing he suggest is using line brakes. OMG! I already did that too! Yay for KeLeigh! Basically, if you just write one long post without any spacing, it imitates your followers, as well as making your blog harder to read and easier for people like me to get lost. Frankly, I won’t even begin to read something that looks like one giant paragraph!

Number Ten: Design. Design. Design.

One thing you really need to ensure is that things are easy to find. Yes, pretty things are eye catching at first, but can also be distracting. Things need to be simple, easy to find, yet attractive. “As you already know, being average isn’t good enough. You need to be the best! And to be the best, you need an awesome design…not a mediocre one.

Number Eleven: Focus On Your Readers

Bogging isn’t about the views, it’s about the connections you make with your audience. You can judge how well your blog is doing by the amount of comments and emails you receive. Remember how we talked about repeat viewers earlier? Keep your readers coming back for more!

If someone comments, talk back. I HATE when I ask a question or give a compliment and NEVER hear back. I understand people are busy but if I see that you don’t reply back to anyone, I loose interest in your blog. It makes you look like you don’t give a crap about us!

 

NOW.

I hope you enjoyed my summery of his post, but like I said, I highly recommend reading it yourself! It really got me thinking. So here are a few tips from me to you! 🙂

IF YOU ARE QUOTING ANOTHER PERSONS BLOG, LINK IT BACK TO THEM!

Notice how I have tons of links in this post? Give credit where it’s due! DO NOTplagiarize. Not only is that illegal, it’s immoral, and disrespectful.

Be Funny

You don’t need to be Adam Sandler to make people laugh. You’ll notice I tend to make fun of myself in some of my posts. Atleast, I think it’s funny.

Make Your Blog Interactive

Ask questions. Maybe end each post with a thought or question people will want to respond to.

Be Yourself

Always, always, always be true to who you are. Don’t write about something because it’s the popular thing to do.Every blogger has their own voice. Use it. It’s refreshing to see peoples different opinions on things. You don’t have to be like everyone else. Boring! Let that sparkling personality of yours shine though!

Experiment

Chances are, you won’t get it right on the first try. See what works best for you, your blog, and your readers! But even when you find your niche, don’t be afraid to try new things! That fear could keep you from your true potential.

So I’ll leave it at that.

However, I’m curious…

I’m assuming you’re reading this post because you are interested in starting out, or have just recently started out…

Why do you blog?

What Inspired You?

And for those of you who have been at it awhile…

What tips and encouragements do you have for us?

3 thoughts on “Things Every New Blogger Should Know When First Starting Out

  1. The overall ranking algorithm might rank your page as
    outlined by this information and a large number of variables (e.
    Affordable SEO services and also the availability of professional SEO copywriters
    would be the two main highlights in the services given by Indian companies.
    Search Engine Optimisation is an important exercise for almost any website owner because, essentially,
    it’s the only way to assure that search engines like yahoo such
    as Google, and as a consequence relevant visitors, reach your
    site.

  2. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read more
    of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

Leave a Reply

